Semper Athletics/Demarini wins Military Varsity A World tournament!

2014 Varsity ‘A’ Military World


Panama City, Florida


August 15-17

Varsity ‘A’ Champions – Semper Athletics/Demarini

Semper Athletics/Demarini out of Virginia won the ‘A’ bracket aka the Varsity bracket at the USSSA Military Worlds, August 15-17 and won the automatic berth into the USSSA Major World Series Setptember 21-25 in Kissimmee, Florida!  The tournament was loaded with top military teams, but in the end, the Final 4 came through as predicted.  It was Semper with Jermaine Flythe, Dennis Davison, Darwin Vinson, and Reginald Patterson vs Doc’s Air Force Senior Softball with Josh Wiggs and Tommie Melton in the top half of the bracket, and a Nationwide Conference team under the name JTF Alliance with Shaw, Docwat, and Woods vs Scrapalators/Worth who had Tre Campbell and Trent Sims in the bottom half.  Semper knocked off Doc’s 7-2 to advance to a winners bracket showdown with JTF, who knocked off The Scrapalators 12-6.  In what was one of the best games of the year,  Semper beat JTF 14-13 to advance to the championship game!

On Sunday, the Scrapalators beat both Doc’s 22-12 and JTF 21-11 to make it back to the championship game against Semper.   This was the match-up the military community has wanted to see all year long and it was fitting that this turned out to be for the rings.  In a well played game, with alot of emotions and trash talking, Semper prevailed with a 11-9 victory to claim the Varsity A World Championship and grab the 18th seed in the USSSA Major World Series!

Semper was led by MVP Dennis Davison (Primetime) and All-Tournament selection Jermaine Flythe.

2014 Varsity A tournament information and bracket link

Crush/WDMS won the Varsity B tournament.

CG1790/Miken won the Intramural division.

Semper Athletics/Demarini Roster:
Dennis Davison
Sherwin Lockridge
Jermaine Flythe
Darwin “Pony” Vinson
Chris Markey
Mike Jenkins
Brandon Williams
Aaron Neely
Reginald Patterson
Lamarque Blake
Juan Nevarez
Will Read
Jonathon “Cody” Marshall

Coaching Staff:  Ike Rivers, Anthony Nelson & Pamela Bell

Player Tournament Awards Players Name Plays For
Defensive Tournament MVP Sherwin Lockridge SEMPER ATHLETICS/DEMARINI
All Tournament Team Eric Querry JTF Alliance
All Tournament Team Juan Nevarez SEMPER ATHLETICS/DEMARINI
All Tournament Team Clayton Shaw JTF Alliance
All Tournament Team TUCKER RUTHERFORD JTF Alliance
All Tournament Team Christopher Markey SEMPER ATHLETICS/DEMARINI
All Tournament Team Jermain Flythe SEMPER ATHLETICS/DEMARINI
All Tournament Team Brandon Williams SEMPER ATHLETICS/DEMARINI
All Tournament Manager Ike Rivers SEMPER ATHLETICS/DEMARINI


  • USSSA on the App Store
  • USSSA on the Play Store
  • Explore upcoming & past events
  • Get updated schedules, scores & standings
  • Book and manage your event lodging
  • Stay informed with important event updates
  • Find your fit with custom event apparel
  • Easily view & navigate to event venues