55th Annual Smoky Mountain Classic tournament preview!


55th Annual Smoky Mountain Classic


Maryville, Tennessee 


July 7-9


Tournament Preview


2023 Smoky Mountain Classic bracket and team list link

The 55th annual Smoky Mountain Classic features 27 Nationwide Conference USSSA teams and 34 teams overall from 17 different states including all 4 Major teams and all 9 ‘AA’ teams.  The tournament will be played at 6 fields spread over 4 different parks in and around the cities of Maryville and Alcoa, Tennessee.  The first two rounds of the Smoky winner’s bracket are always played on Friday, this year beginning at 10:00 AM eastern time, and teams that win their first two games on Friday will find themselves playing on the show field Saturday in the prestigious “Final 8” of the winner’s bracket.  Pictures of the fields, history of the tournament, live stream links, stats, and chat room links are all listed in this preview page.

The festivities begin at 6 PM eastern time on Thursday, July 6th with the 1st Annual Frank Bradley Memorial All Star Game featuring the top All Stars who have played Conference for 8 or more years vs the top All Stars that have played Conference for less than 8 years in an unlimited home run game!  That will be followed by a team vs team home run derby.  You can check out the rosters and the details on the game here at this link.  The big question for the All Star game could be: “are players willing to play an all star game in possibly wet and muddy conditions”?  And remember Conference Cares has a clothing/donation drop at the main fields all weekend.  Link to All Star Game live stats.

Resmondo is the #1 seed and has dominated the regular season winning on the smallest fields in Las Vegas, the 325 foot fields at Myrtle Beach, and the largest fields in Viera, Florida at the Hall of Fame Classic.  They are the heavy favorites as they are having arguably the greatest offensive season in softball history.  Monsta who won the 2022 Smoky Mountain Classic has had trouble at the pitching position but can always be a factor.  MPT Rentals who won the 2022 USSSA Major World Series has yet to win a tournament this year and their top hitter Filip Washington won’t be able to play until August.  Competitive Edge who won the 2022 USSSA ‘AA’ Worlds and finished second as a ‘AA’ team at the Major World Series last year has won just one tournament (Texas Dual #2) and has struggled at pitcher as well and has picked up LC Watson.  There are a number of fun ‘AA’ teams that have had big success that could slip into the final 4 on Sunday at the Smoky and those are Chick-fil-a who made runs in Texas and Columbus, Georgia.  S&E who made runs in Myrtle Beach and Columbus, Georgia.  Roofx who made a nice run in Tennessee and won the Chicago Major.   Nitro Circus and Smash It Sports who made runs early in the season.  Sports Reach and JBL who have played well at times but have yet to peak.  And WestPoint who won last weekend in Kansas City.  More than likely a ‘AA’ team will make it to Sunday.

USSSALive.com will stream the tournament.  My goal is to stream every minute of every game.  The Chat room here at ConferenceUSSSA.com will be up all weekend to discuss the games.  BallClubz live stats linkBallClubz team totals stats link.

The Smoky Mountain Classic features unlimited home runs and non-standard 80 foot base lengths.  On Friday, the biggest crowds are at diamond #3 at Sandy Springs Park which is the “show” field as the local fans watch their local teams take on the big boys.  But the better matchups on Friday are over at Everett Park where the A and AA teams will square off.  On Saturday, park your chair in the shade at the show field at Sandy Springs Park and watch the top 8 teams in the country battle it out all day long in the winner’s bracket!  The bats will be tested at 240 compression and the heat and humidity will be high.  With 27 conference teams in attendance there will be 180 + (4 x 27) = 288 points given to the winner.  I don’t believe any team ranked outside of the top 3 seeds has ever won the Smoky Mountain Classic and no non-Major team has ever won it.  Monsta who won last year was the #3 seed.

2023 SoftballCenter Computer Rankings

Video Clip and Condensed Game Playlist of the 2022 Smoky

Video Clip and Condensed Game Playlist of the Smoky from 2009-2022

2023 Team and Player Stats Link

The Smoky Mountain Classic Teams


The Playing Fields

Sandy Springs Park
702 Best Rd
Maryville, Tennessee 37803

Field #3 with long home run distances marked.

Field is an old high school baseball field with ​310-340-350-336-315 fence dimensions.


Sandy Springs Park
702 Best Rd
Maryville, Tennessee 37803

Field #4 ​  310-310-310-310-274 fence dimensions.



Fields #1 (SEHR #1) and #2 (SEHR #2
Everett Park
702 Burchfield Street
Maryville, TN 37804
Field #1 (287 – 298 – 290) and Field #2 (310 – 300 – 293)


Field #5 (DP) Denso Manufacturing Field
1720 Robert C. Jackson Drive 
Maryville, TN 37801
Fences (310 – 310 – 310)


Springbrook Recreation Center Field #6
1537 Dalton Street
Alcoa, TN 3770
Fences (276 – 297 – 299)


Weather Report

Weather looks warm, humid, and rainy.



Past Smoky Winner’s!

1st Place – Monsta/Albicocco/Racks/Nitro Circus (CA-Major)

2022 Smoky Mountain Classic tournament report link


1st Place – SmashItSports/Newbreed/TDB/RF/BD/T3

2021 Smoky tournament report link!

1st Place – Dan Smith/Menosse/Steven Smith/FAI (CA-M)

2020 Smoky tournament report link

1st Place – Resmondo/SIS/Thunder/RDD/H.Auto/Easton

2019 Smoky tournament report link

1st Place – Resmondo/RDD/H.Auto/All In/Sprizzi/Easton

2018 Smoky tournament report link

2017 Smoky tournament report link

2016 Smoky tournament report link

2015 Smoky tournament report link

2014 Smoky tournament report link

2013 Smoky tournament report link

2013 Results

2012 Smoky tournament report link

2011 Smoky tournament report link

2005 Bell Corp/Backman/Taylor/Easton – Tampa, Florida
2004 Resmondo/Hague/Taylor/Sunbelt
2003 Hague / Resmondo / Taylor Brothers
2002 Dan Smith / Backman / Menosse / Easton
2001 Long Haul / Taylor Bros. / Shen Corp. / TPS
2000 Team TPS/Louisville, KY
1999 Team TPS, Louisville, Kentucky
1998 Sierra/TPS, Reno, NV
1997 Ritch’s/Superior/Tri Gems/Beloli/TPS, Windsor Locks, CT
1996 Sunbelt/Easton, Centerville, GA
1995 Ritch’s/Superior/TPS, Windsor Locks, CT
1994 Ritch’s/Superior/TPS, Windsor Locks, CT
1993 Ritch’s/Superior, Windsor Locks, CT
1992 Bell Corp, Tampa, FL.
1991 Bell Corp, Tampa, FL.
1990 Steeles Silver Bullets, Grafton, OH
1989 Superior-Apollo, Windsor Locks, CT
1988 Starpath Systems, Monticello, KY
1987 Steeles Sports, Grafton, OH
1986 Steeles Sports, Grafton, OH
1985 Elite Coatings, Gordon, GA
1984 Elite Coatings, Gordon, GA
1983 Elite Coatings, Gordon, GA
1982 York/Ken Sanders, York, PA
1981 Howards Western Steer, Denver, NC
1980 Jerry’s Caterers, Miami, FL.
1979 Campbell’s Carpet, Concord, CA
1978 Dave Carroll Sports, Sherrills-Ford, NC
1977 Howards Furniture, Denver, NC
1976 Howards Furniture, Denver, NC
1975 Nelson Painting, Oklahoma City, OK
1974 Howards Furniture, Denver, NC



  • USSSA on the App Store
  • USSSA on the Play Store
  • Explore upcoming & past events
  • Get updated schedules, scores & standings
  • Book and manage your event lodging
  • Stay informed with important event updates
  • Find your fit with custom event apparel
  • Easily view & navigate to event venues